Recent Match Report – India vs Australia 2nd ODI 2022/23

Toss Australia choose to bowl v India

Despite the continued drizzle of recent days, the rain in Visakhapatnam stopped on Sunday morning to provide a punctual start to the second ODI between India and Australia. Once the coin went up it was Australian captain Steven Smith who won the toss and chose to chase.

Both sides made two changes each, with Alex Carey returning as Australian wicket-keeper in place of Josh Inglis. Carey was ill for the first ODI. Australia also brought in extra fast bowler Nathan Ellis in place of Glenn Maxwell, who Smith says has “got a bit sore”. Adam Zampa is the only spinner on the front line.
India omitted Ishan Kishan to make way for returning Rohit Sharma who missed the first ODI due to personal commitments while they chose an extra spin bowling option for the second ODI with Shardul Thakur being traded for Axar Patel in the lower middle class. The last time India had three left arm spinners in their XI was in an ODI against Sri Lanka in 2010.

Both captains acknowledged that the pitch – covered in recent days – was an unknown factor in the game, making chasing the smart choice at the coin toss.

“The three spinners is something we could do in the World Cup, so try it out,” Rohit said at the toss. Smith said the pitch could “maybe do a little bit” in the beginning and wanted his side to right their wrongs from the first ODI where they lost wickets in droves.

Australia XI: 1 Travis Head, 2 Mitchell Marsh, 3 Steven Smith, 4 Marnus Labuschagne, 5 Alex Carey, 6 Cameron Green, 7 Marcus Stoinis, 8 Sean Abbott, 9 Mitchell Starc, 10 Nathan Ellis, 11 Adam Zampa

India XI: 1 Rohit Sharma, 2 Shubman Gill, 3 Virat Kohli, 4 Suryakumar Yadav, 5 KL Rahul, 6 Hardik Pandya, 7 Ravindra Jadeja, 8 Axar Patel, 9 Kuldeep Yadav, 10 Mohammad Shami, 11 Mohammed Siraj


%d bloggers like this: